Grade I Officer

Application Criteria

The Auxiliary Medical Service (AMS) welcomes those who are interested in community services and medical work, and fulfill the following criteria to join:-

(1) be physically fit;
(2) obtain Secondary 3 level or above and be able to read and write Chinese (*Note);
(3) be at the age of 16 to below 60, and written consent from parents or guardians are required for those aged between 16 and 18; and
(4) be a permanent resident of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region;

*Note Applicants failing to present academic proof showing that they meet the Chinese language proficiency requirement (i.e. a pass or above in Chinese Language in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (HKDSEE) or the Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (HKCEE) held by the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA), or equivalent) are required to attend a Chinese written test, except those holding the following academic qualification:-
(1) Graduation Certificate of the Diploma Yi Jin Programme;
(2) Certificate of the HKDSEE or the HKCEE issued by the HKEAA with a pass or above in Chinese language;
(3) Graduation certificate of a matriculation course issued by the HKEAA with a pass or above in Chinese language; or
(4) Graduation certificate of a programme run by a local university or tertiary institution in Hong Kong including degree, associate degree, diploma or certificate (with a pass or above in Chinese language or reasonable evidence, e.g. studies in the Chinese Faculty).

Application Procedures

Interested parties who fulfill the above application criteria may refer to the Walk-in Interview Schedule and directly attend an interview with the required documents. They may immediately complete an application form and attend an interview without any reservation. Applicants may also send a completed application form to the Auxiliary Medical Service Headquarters, 81 Princess Margaret Road, Ho Man Tin, Kowloon by post, by fax to 27150245, or email to info@ams.gov.hk. The AMS will send a written interview invitation to the applicants upon receipt of the application form.

After passing the interview, Medical examination will be arranged for applicants. The Auxiliary Medical Service will promptly inform those who have passed the medical examination of the arrangements and schedule of the induction training.

During induction training, trainees are required to pass the Occupational and Physical fitness test (including 1-minute push-up, 100-meter run or walk with first aid rucksack in 1 minute, 1-minute sit-up, 30-second Squat Thrust and 800-meter run or walk in 6 minutes) and other assessments, e.g. first aid, Chinese-style foot drill, ambulance aid and etc. Trainees who have passed the induction training assessment and Occupational Task and Physical Fitness Test and with satisfactory overall performance will be awarded a certificate and assigned to different units.

What types of training are required?

Trainees are required to attend about 132 hours of induction training, which covers the organisation of the AMS, national security education, first aid, discipline, squad drill, casualty handling, protection of personal data and patient privacy etc.

After formal enrolment, members are required to attend regular training (two Sunday mornings and one weekday evening every month) to gain more medical and first aid knowledge and skills, such as evacuation of casualties, disaster management, etc. Moreover, they will be arranged to receive the following courses: basic nursing care, Disaster Medical Assistant, driving, the application of radio communication equipment, leadership, management, life-saving, management of methadone clinics, etc.

Training sessions are usually held on weekday evenings, weekends or public holidays to facilitate members’ attendance Training centres and venues are established over the territory so that members can attend training near their homes.

What are their responsibilities?

Members will be mobilised to provide first aid services at the scene in case of major emergencies, such as floods, landslides, collapses of buildings, contagious diseases etc. Their usual first-aid services cover cycling tracks, country parks, major public functions and activities, ambulance depots of the Fire Services Department, methadone clinics, etc. They also offer paramedical support for hospitals and non-emergency ambulance services.

一級隊員

申請要求

本隊歡迎有意服務社會、對醫療工作有興趣,並具備下述條件的人士,申請加入醫療輔助隊:

(一) 體格良好;
(二) 中三程度或以上,能閱讀及書寫中文 (註);
(三) 16歲至未滿60歲,年滿16歲但未滿18歲的申請者須獲得家長或監護人書面同意;以及
(四) 為香港特別行政區永久性居民。


*註: 如未能提交學歷證明,顯示符合中國語文能力要求 (即在香港考試及評核局「香港中學文憑考試」或「香港中學會考」中國語文科考獲合格或以上成績,或具同等成績),申請人須參加中文筆試,持有下列學歷者除外


(1) 香港毅進文憑課程畢業證書;
(2) 香港考試及評核局簽發的香港中學文憑證書或香港中學會考證書(中國語文科考獲合格或以上成績);
(3) 香港考試及評核局簽發的大學預科證書(中國語文科考獲合格或以上成績);或
(4) 香港本地大學或大專院校課程的畢業證書,包括學位、副學士學位、文憑或證書(中國語文科考獲合格或以上成績,或具有合理證明,例如修讀中文系)。

申請程序

任何符合上述申請要求,而且有意入隊的人士可參閱本隊即場招募面試時間表,面試當日帶同所需文件,填妥申請表格後可即時接受職能測試 (放置儀器測試) 及面試。申請人也可選擇寄交填妥的申請表格至九龍何文田公主道81號醫療輔助隊總部、傳真至27150245或電郵至info@ams.gov.hk。本隊收到申請表格後,會以書面形式邀請申請人出席面試。

通過招募面試及職能測試後,申請人會獲安排進行體格檢驗,通過體格檢驗後,本隊會盡快通知入職訓練安排及時間表。

新隊員於受訓期間需完成體能測試 (包括1分鐘掌上壓、背上急救背囊,1分鐘跑步或步行100米、1分鐘仰臥起坐、30秒蹲撐立、800米跑步或步行) ,並取得合格成績,另同樣需要通過其他考核。新學員通過入職訓練評核和職能及體適能測試,會獲頒證書,並調派至各分隊。

要接受什麼訓練?

新加入的學員必須接受為期約132小時的入職訓練,內容包括本隊組織概略、國家安全教育、急救、紀律、步操、傷者處理、保障個人資料及病人私隱等。

正式入隊後,各隊員須繼續出席每月的常規訓練(每月兩個星期日的上午和一個平日的晚上),學習進一步的醫療急救知識和技巧,例如傷者撤離、災難醫療等。此外,他們會獲安排接受下列訓練:基本護理課程、災難醫療助理課程、救護學、駕駛、無綫電通訊器的使用、領袖訓練、管理學課程、一般拯溺、美沙酮診所管理課程等。

為方便隊員,訓練多在平日晚上、周末或公眾假期舉行。地點方面,除港九市區外,新界及離島亦設有訓練中心及場地,盡量安排他們在住所附近接受訓練。

職責為何?

發生緊急事故時,例如水浸、山泥傾瀉、屋宇倒塌、傳染病等,隊員會趕赴現場進行搶救。他們平日會到單車徑、郊野公園、大型群眾集會/活動的場地、消防處救護站、美沙酮診所等地方當值,為市民提供各類急救護理服務。此外,他們會到醫院執行輔助護士的工作,以及提供非緊急救護車服務。