Potential Officer Programme

Application Criteria

The Auxiliary Medical Service (AMS) welcomes those who are interested in community and voluntary medical services, and fulfil the following criteria to join the AMS and enrol in the Potential Officer Programme. This programme lasts for about two years (Note 1). Applicants who passed the assessments and with satisfactory overall performance will be appointed as Grade IV Officer and Senior Grade IV Officer after completing the first and second year of the programme respectively (Note 2). Applicants are required to fulfil the following criteria:-

  1. be a permanent resident of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region;
  2. be at the age of 16 to below 60, written consent from parents or guardians is required for those aged between 16 and 18;
  3. (i) obtained Level 2 or equivalent (Note 3) or above in five subjects in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (HKDSEE) (Note 4), or equivalent; or
    (ii) obtained Level 2 (Note 5) / Grade E or above in five subjects in the Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (HKCEE) (Note 4), or equivalent;
  4. met the language proficiency requirements of Level 2 (Note 5) or above in Chinese Language and English Language in HKDSEE or HKCEE, or equivalent; and
  5. pass the interview (Note 6), criminal record screening and medical examination.

Note 1 Depending on the number of vacancies, the AMS will occasionally organise the Potential Officer Programme

Note 2 For applicants who failed the assessments or with unsatisfactory performance, their membership may be terminated.

Note 3 “Attained” in Applied Learning subjects (subject to a maximum of two Applied Learning subjects), and Grade E in Other Language subjects in the HKDSEE are accepted as equivalent to Level 2 in the New Senior Secondary subjects in the HKDSEE.

Note 4 The subjects may include Chinese Language and English Language.

Note 5 Grade E in Chinese Language and English Language (Syllabus B) in the HKCEE before 2007 are accepted administratively as comparable to Level 2 in Chinese Language and English Language in the 2007 HKCEE and henceforth.

Note 6 Where a large number of candidates meet the specified entry requirements, the AMS may devise shortlisting criteria to select the better qualified candidates for further processing. In these circumstances, only shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend selection interview.


Application Procedures

“Application of Potential Officer Programme 2024 ”

Applicants are required to send a completed application form [A.M.S. 14B (Rev.5/2024)] , together with copies of documentary proof of possession of the required academic qualifications (e.g. transcripts, certificates, etc.), to the AMS on or before 6pm on June 28, 2024 (Hong Kong time) via one of the following means. “For Application of Potential Officer Programme 2024 ” should be clearly marked on the front of the envelope/email title/fax cover sheet.

  1. mail to Auxiliary Medical Service Headquarters, 81 Princess Margaret Road, Ho Man Tin, Kowloon. Please ensure that the correct address is clearly printed or written on the envelope and sufficient postage has been affixed before posting. Applicants will bear any consequences arising from paying insufficient postage; or
  2. e-mail to po@ams.gov.hk; or
  3. fax to 2715 0245

Submitted application forms [A.M.S. 14B (Rev.5/2024)] , copies of official transcripts and certificates which are incomplete, late, not made in the prescribed form may not be accepted.

Holders of academic qualifications other than those obtained from Hong Kong institutions/Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority may also apply but their qualifications will be subject to assessments on equivalence with the required entry qualifications.

After receiving the application forms, the AMS will conduct preliminary vetting and inform applicants by email or by post of the arrangements of the screening procedures, including interview, criminal record screening and medical examination. Candidates who are selected for interview will normally receive an invitation in about six to ten weeks from the closing date for applications. This period may be longer in exceptional circumstances, e.g. when a large number of applications are received or when there are other

complications. Upon passing the interview, a criminal record screening and medical examination will be arranged. Candidates who are not invited for selection interview may assume that their applications are unsuccessful.

The AMS will choose the most suitable applicant(s) according to their performance in the screening procedures and the number of vacancies. Selected applicant(s) will be informed of the enrolment arrangements by email or by post.

During induction training, trainees are required to pass the Occupational and Physical fitness test (including 1-minute push-up, 100-meter run or walk with first aid rucksack in 1 minute, 1-minute sit-up, 30-second Squat Thrust and 800-metre run or walk) and other assessments, e.g. first aid, Chinese-style foot drill, ambulance aid and etc.


What types of training are required?

Trainees have to attend some training and courses in the Headquarters or different training centres of the AMS on weekday evenings, weekends or public holidays, including induction training, Disaster Medical Assistant course, management course, outdoor training, etc. After completing the first year of the programme, trainees who passed the assessments and with satisfactory overall performance will be appointed as Grade IV Officer and be assigned to serve different units. Upon completion of the second year of the programme, trainees who passed the assessments and with satisfactory overall performance will be assigned as Senior Grade IV Officer.

What are their responsibilities?

(Senior) Grade IV Officers are required to assist their unit supervisors to perform the following tasks:-

Operations: Disaster relief, contingency response, resources allocation, crisis management, regular services, etc.
Training: Leadership, training planning, teaching, resources management and development, etc.
Management: Discipline, supervision, planning, teamwork, etc.
Administration: Human resources management, financial planning, duty management, etc.

准长官课程

申请要求

本队欢迎有意服务社会丶对志愿医疗工作有兴趣,并具备下列条件的人士,申请加入医疗辅助队成为长官。申请人须接受为期约两年的准长官课程(注1),完成首年及第二年课程後,通过评核及整体表现令人满意的学员会分别获委任为四级长官及高四级长官(注2)。申请人须符合以下要求:


(一) 为香港特别行政区永久性居民;
(二) 16岁至未满60岁,年满16岁但未满18岁的申请人须获得家长或监护人书面同意;
(三) (i) 在香港中学文凭考试五科考获第2级或同等(注3)或以上成绩(注4),或具同等学历;或
(ii) 在香港中学会考五科考获第2级(注5) /E级或以上成绩(注4),或具同等学历;
(四) 符合语文能力要求,即在香港中学文凭考试或香港中学会考中国语文科和英国语文科考获第2级(注5)或以上成绩,或具同等成绩;以及
(五) 通过面试(注6)丶刑事纪录审查及体格检验。

 

注1 视乎实际空缺数目,本队会不定期开办准长官课程。

注2 申请人如未能通过各项评核或表现未如理想,有机会被终止队籍。

注3 香港中学文凭考试应用学习科目(最多计算两科)「达标」成绩,以及其他语言科目E级成绩,会被视为相等於新高中科目第2级成绩。

注4 有关科目可包括中国语文及英国语文科。

注5 2007年前的香港中学会考中国语文科和英国语文科(课程乙) E级成绩,在行政上会被视为等同2007年或之後香港中学会考中国语文科和英国语文科第2级成绩。

注6 如果符合订明条件的申请人数目众多,本队可以订立筛选准则,甄选条件较佳的申请人,以便进一步处理。在此情况下,只有获筛选的申请人会获邀参加面试。

申请程序

「申请准长官课程 2024」

申请人必须在2024年6月28日下午六时(香港时间) 或之前将填妥的申请表格[A.M.S. 14B (Rev.5/2024)],并连同修业成绩表副本及证书副本透过下列其中一个方法一并递交,信封面/电邮主旨/传真首页须注明「申请准长官课程 2024」。

  1. 邮寄至九龙何文田公主道81号医疗辅助队总部(信封上的邮戳日期将视为递交申请书的日期)。申请人须确保邮寄地址正确无误,并支付足够邮资。申请人须自行承担因未有支付足够邮资而引致的任何後果;或
  2. 电邮至:po@ams.gov.hk;或
  3. 传真至:2715 0245

递交的申请表格[A.M.S. 14B (Rev.5/2024)] 丶修业成绩副本及证书副本如资料不全丶逾期丶并非采用指定表格,其申请将可能不获处理。

持有本港以外学府/非香港考试及评核局颁授的学历人士亦可申请,惟其学历必须经过评审以确定是否与职位所要求的本地学历水平相若。

本队接获申请表格後,会初步审核申请人资料,并以电邮或邮寄方式通知申请人遴选程序,包括面试丶刑事纪录审查,以及体格检验。申请人如获邀参加面试,通常会在截止申请日期後约6至10星期内接获通知。然而,若遇到申请人数众多或其他特殊情况以致需较长时间处理申请,申请人或会较迟接获通知。通过面试的申请人会获安排进行刑事纪录审查及接受体格检验。如申请人未获邀请参加面试,则可视作已落选。

医疗辅助队会根据申请人在遴选程序中的表现及空缺数目,选择最合适的人选,并以电邮或邮寄方式通知入队安排。

学员於受训期间需完成职能及体适能测试 (包括1分钟掌上压丶背上急救背囊,1分钟跑步或步行100米丶1分钟仰卧起坐丶30秒蹲撑立丶800米跑步或步行) ,并取得合格成绩,另需要通过其他考核,例如∶急救丶中式步操丶救护学等。

要接受什麽训练?

学员须於平日晚上丶周末或公众假期在医疗辅助队总部或各训练中心上课。课程内容涵盖入职训练课程丶灾难医疗助理课程丶管理课程丶户外训练等。完成首年课程後,通过评核及整体表现令人满意的学员会获委任为四级长官,并会被派驻不同单位实习。完成第二年课程後,通过评核及整体表现令人满意的学员会获委任为高四级长官。

职责为何?

四级/高四级长官须协助单位主管执行以下工作:

行动: 灾难救援丶紧急应变丶资源调配丶危机处理丶常规服务等
培训: 领袖才能丶训练策划丶教学丶资源管理及发展等
管理: 纪律丶督导丶策划丶团队协作等
行政: 人力资源管理丶财务预算丶队务管理等