The AMS, formed in 1950 with a small membership of 2,000, now has an establishment of 4,745 members. These members come from all walks of life including professionals working in either public organizations or private practice, such as doctors, nurses, pharmacists, dispensers, radiographers and paramedical personnel. By law, the Director of Health is the Commissioner of AMS.

The Service is commanded by the Commissioner through the AMS Headquarters, which in turn directs the operation of the Operations Wings, the Training & Development Column, the Medical & Paramedic Column and the Logistics & Support Column.

AMS Volunteer Members

Dr. Chan Hon-yee, JP
* Cheif Staff Officer
Mr HUI Wai-kwong
D COMR (Ops)
Dr CHAN Chi-kau, BBS, JP
Mr CHOI Pui-wah
D COMR (L&S) Ms LEE Yuk-ching, MH
Dr Leung Wing-hang, JP
SACOMR (HQ) Mr LAU Ting-leung, MH
SACOMR (Ops 1) Mr CHAN Hop-kuen
SACOMR (Ops 2) Mr YU See-ho
SACOMR (T&D) Dr LUK Wei-kwang
SACOMR (MED) Dr WAI Heung-on
SACOMR (L&S) Mr LUK Choi-lung
SACOMR (CC) Mr LEE Ka-keung

* Note:The Chief Staff Officer is a full-time government official who is responsible to the Commissioner for the efficient administration, planning, training and operation of AMS.